About James Marshall

Basic Description

For a little background information, I'm roughly middle-aged, and probably about average in build and appearance. I've lived my whole life in the USA, and grew up in New Jersey, in the New York metropolitan area. I currently live in the Washington, DC metropolitan area. Personality-wise, I'd say I have a pretty good sense of humor, a bit shy until you get to know me, romantic, and a bit hooked on chivalry and honor and such; I guess I'm kind of old-fashioned. That may also be why I enjoy many of the articles on the Art of Manliness blog. I also love learning and am usually willing to try out new things (within reason). I've found some good advice in the Desiderata and ancient eastern classics such as the Tao Te Ching and the I Ching (both Wikipedia article links). You can find out more about me and my personal interests on my hobbies page and my professional information on my education and work pages.

Social Networks

I'm also on a variety social networks and similar sites, so feel free to connect with me there. Here are links to some that I try to keep up with: my Facebook profile, my two Twitter accounts -- @Dronak for more general stuff and @astrophd for more professional stuff -- my Google+ profile, and my LinkedIn profile. I think the following are a bit different, but also wanted to mention my Pinterest profile which I use occasionally, my Instagram profile which is mainly for following others, and my SoundCloud profile where you can find many songs I wrote. For some measure of my online influence, though I'm not sure how accurate they are, you can check out Dronak's Klout score and astrophd's Klout score or Dronak's Kred and astrophd's Kred; until these services allow multiple Twitter names on one account, I'm stuck with two measures for each. If you find any of my posts interesting, helpful, etc., please +K or +Kred the relevant topic(s) on Klout or Kred, respectively. Also, please note that I only accept Facebook friend requests from people I know in real life and it's about the same for LinkedIn, MeWe, and Ello. However, you're welcome to follow me on Twitter, Pinterest, Instagram, or SoundCloud, and/or circle me on Google+ whether you know me in person or not.

Family, Pets, and Friends

Besides my parents (obviously) and my wonderful wife -- see my wedding page for some basic information about when I got married -- my more immediate family consists of two siblings and some nieces and nephews. More extended, there are aunts, uncles, cousins, etc. We currently have three parakeets/budgies: a light green bird from the second clutch of my brother's parakeets, a mauve bird, and (I think) a recessive pied that's almost all yellow. The last two are from PetSmart. We also have a red-eared slider turtle. We used to have a yellowface type II sky blue parakeet from the first clutch of my brother's birds, and sadly passed away at only four years old. When I used to live with my parents, we had dogs around, primarily Newfoundlands, but there was one Boxer, too. Right now though, I don't have any dogs. As for friends and acquaintances, there are lots of people I know, and I try to keep tabs on some of them through Facebook; if you know me in real life (not just via the Internet), you can add me as a friend there and I'll probably accept it if I remember you, too. I'm also on Twitter, which can be useful as well, but I tend to use it less. I don't know how many of my friends and acquaintances have their own web sites, but here are a few I do know of: Donna M. Pierce (professional), My Silly Life, Quiet Wanderer, and Effortless Peace.


Social bookmarking/sharing links:

Site navigation links:
[Home] [Back] [Forward] [E-mail] [Info / Site Map]

Direct links to major sections:
[About Me] [Hobbies] [Arts] [Food and Drink] [Games] [Learning] [Miscellaneous] [Radio] [Science and Technology] [Sports] [Television] [Education] [Honor Societies] [Work] [Professional Societies] [Resume]

Direct links to specific pages:
[Abbreviations] [Astronomy Abbreviations] [Ballroom Books] [Ballroom Combos] [Ballroom Dancing] [Ballroom Steps] [Chivalry] [Desiderata] [Dissertation (@UMD)] [Gamebook Blurbs] [Jelly Belly Recipes] [Nikoli Puzzle Rules] [Pocky] [Professor Quotes] [Smileys] [Spanish Gypsy Dance] [Tai Chi Forms] [VLSBG Catalog] [Wedding]

Search this site with a Google custom search engine:

Loading

James Marshall (e-mail me)
http://www.jmarshall.net/

This page was last updated on March 3, 2015.
This page has been visited times since September 27, 2009. Free counter courtesy of PHPJunkYard.com.
View my standard disclaimer or site map.

[Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict] [Valid CSS!] [Created with Vim]